Fleet Foxes

Fleet Foxes Will Release a New Album This Summer

It’s been nearly six years since the indie-folk band Fleet Foxes released their sophomore album Helplessness Blues, and despite the success of the record—which included a Grammy nomination for Best Folk Album—the band decided to take a very long hiatus after its release. Now, Robin Pecknold and co. have announced that they will be releasing a new album on June 16th. 

Not many bands disappear without breaking up, or reappear without flashy reunion or anniversary tours, but Fleet Foxes are already in the process of breaking those trends. The first single off of Crack-Up dropped this week. The song, titled “Third of May / Ōdaigahara“, was released with a lyric video. And not long after, Pecknold took to Genius to annotate the lyrics and provide context for his songwriting. Though we can already ascertain this from listening to “Third of May / Ōdaigahara”, Pecknold was attempting to channel the style of Bob Dylan and the emotional landscapes akin to Leonard Cohen’s music. And we think he was successful. Check out the lyric video for “Third of May / Ōdaigahara” below:

Pecknold not only wrote all 11 tracks of the upcoming Fleet Foxes album, but according to an Instagram post, he’s also working on a solo body of material. The lead single, according to Pecknold, is about his friendship with fellow bandmate Skyler Skjelset and their journey of being alternately distant and close over a number of years. In describing the new album, Pecknold described in an interview with Pitchfork that his source of inspiration came from a fractured state that occurred after touring Helplessness Blues, and that many of the songs are about forming connections.
Fleet Foxes
In terms of a new Fleet Foxes tour, Pecknold has confirmed that the band will try to hit as many cities as possible this Summer. So far, they have been confirmed as one of many bands to take part in the Celebrate Brooklyn! Concert Series in Prospect Park. We anticipate that Fleet Foxes will announce their full North American Tour sometime in May or June, closer to the release of Crack-Up. 

Until then, enjoy “Third of May / Ōdaigahara”, a triumphant single that marks the return of Fleet Foxes, who, after six years, remains a beloved and vital band for the future of folk. Check out the full track list of Crack-Up below:

1. I Am All That I Need / Arroyo Seco / Thumbprint Scar
2. Cassius, —
3. — Naiads, Cassadies
4. Kept Woman
5. Third Of May / Ōdaigahara
6. If You Need To, Keep Time On Me
7. Mearcstapa
8. On Another Ocean (January / June)
9. Fool’s Errand
10. I Should See Memphis
11. Crack-Up


Site Footer

Sliding Sidebar

What is TickPick?

What is TickPick?

We are a no-fee ticket marketplace that is changing the industry. We're growing rapidly thanks to cheaper prices, an amazing buyer experience, and a novel approach to the secondary ticket market.

Check Us Out